Norfolk Race Weekend Successful

Colby Turpin on the top step as Cat 5 State Champion

With 91 starters at the Maskenthine XC Classic and 84 at the Norfolk Classic/Nebraska State Championship Criterium,  it was a great weekend of racing in Northeast Nebraska. The EVCC volunteer spirit is alive and well and showed itself in full force all weekend, with volunteers making the weekend pleasant for all involved.

Maskenthine XC Classic

After some rain showers, the Maskenthine course was in prime condition for racing. A little humidity and some June temperatures added something to the riders pre-race prep but to our knowledge it didn’t exactly hinder anyone. Kevin Limpach (Team Kaos) stamped his mark on the course with a course record 29:07 lap using it to win the Cat 1 overall, with Stephen Jarrett (Midwest Cycling Community NE) and Brad Auen (EVCCX-Monster) close behind.

Race team podiums:

Cat 1 19-29

1. Brad Auen

Cat 1 Women

1. Rhonda Wright

Cat 2 50+

2. Jerry Hoff

Cat 3 Men 50+

3. Jerry Arnold

Maskenthine XC Classic results

Norfolk Classic/Nebraska State Championship Criterium

Several big fields and some of the best racing ever held were the highlights of the day at the Norfolk Classic/Nebraska State Championship Criterium. The day started with an exciting Masters race that put several EVCC riders in the mix and on the podium in the Championship age breakouts. Greg Shimonek  (Midwest Cycling Community NE), Jordan Brasch (Team MACK), and Bryan Redemske  (Midwest Cycling Community NE) took and early lead and finished in that order on the overall podium.

In Cat 4 Rich Anderson mixed in up in the final lap taking a flyer off the front eventually finishing fourth.

Colby Turpin took home top honors for the team with a gold medal in Men 5 giving him another step toward an upgrade to cat 4.

Race team top finishers:

Masters 40+

2. Joe Savoie (NE Silver Medal)

3. Kevin Murray (NE Bronze Medal)

Masters 50+

4. Jerry Arnold (NE Bronze Medal)

Masters 60+

3. Jerry Nordeen (NE Bronze Medal)

Cat 4 men

4. Rich Anderson

Women Open

3. Whitney Porn

Cat 5

2. Colby Turpin (NE State Champion)

Nebraska State Championship Criterium results